top of page

Sister Cher Chronicles

Sister Cher Chronicles


Short Story



1

When I recollect the old town where I spent my childhood years I see myself strolling to the ancient streets in the forenoon of a day after passing the mailing station and the Ayurveda crisis centre where my uncle’s friend was the medical officer. My uncle was a tracker in his youth , super chiller,fine in manners and outlook and an admirer of bounty hunters, who thought that there is sure magic in life. He was just ordinary in others’eyes, but not in his own.That might have made him to live upto the life he aimed at and perhaps to an extent achieve it. His photographs of youth testify that he was handsome and there are several pictures where he is seen dicing in seawater and smiling shirtless. But towards the end of his life, he took another turn, turning himself into an aficionado of ayurvedic medicines and vegan styles of living. And in those last years was an enthusiast of the ayurvedic medications and had a couple of scratchpads filled in his print–like handwriting how to mix and manage and concoct flavours and spices and add to the Ayurvedic elixir he made and gulped. He had a ton of blends made without anyone else from books or pamphlets he read in his extra time. When went debilitated, he took the prescriptions and he even made some social occasion plants from our nursery. Our own was a significant nursery as my mother was in the agricultural help and she was posted in various spots inside the state and when she arrived at home she carried with her shoots and stems and brambles and were planted in our nursery she liked developing In the underlying stages until she became wiped out. This is the background of our family set-up where another important character in our day to day life makes an appearance. And my dad mostly was abroad or in another state in the country.

2

I used to walk around these streets past the paddy fields for many periods. The old pool where bullocks took the plunge was filled and a lodging complex occupied the spot. After a long time, one more Bank settlement came up on the opposite roadside. The way had trees on the two sides for a significant length distance however turned out to be forlorn for the remainder of the length lastly it finished in the public authority staff quarters, a bunch of 80 odd structures occupied by the staff of the state government. Here Dr Sosu built her house. There was a casual gathering of ladies once in a week or once in a fortnight and when I was a little kid, I went there with my mom. There some of the time, my mummy and I will meet Padminiashy who was an incredible companion of Dr Sosa who always wore blue dresses. And the last was my mom’s companion in eras of trouble. I had heard them speaking in low tones in our bedroom when my father was away from town, and I could not then make out what that was. Later mom herself revealed to me after many years that the topics of private discussion were the family matters of both of their relatives. And sometimes, there were concerns about the health of her husband’s health who died in the harness… It was a real circle of dear companions. In the greater part of their discussions, the subject will be the weakening of society, scornful activities against ladies, reference to certain current social issues. There likewise sprung up points, for example, retirement age, present-day more youthful age etc.Dr Sosu’s house was on the stream of an incline that is encircled by paddy fields. There is one more course to a similar objective by intersecting the tamarind rows by the side of the road, yet her practice was in our small town which was very far away from the town community. She was an Ayurveda doyen and was my mother’s incidental sidekick. When I visited her centre, when I had a development on the nape and she endorsed a couple of meds anyway around then I went to an alternate port and later that blister was eliminated by a medical procedure, Be that as it might, Dr Sosa passed in the vigil of drawing in with this illness for a lengthy compass.

3

Padmini ashy was of my dad’s age. They were childhood friends. I have gone to the original house of Padmini Ashy where her mother and elder sisters lived in. The family was intimate to my eldest aunt at the time when she alone had run a restaurant. The restaurant it is said was the first one of its sort in the town in that area .This eldest sister was a widow , and after her my dad became very intimate to this family. That was perhaps another 30 years before my visit to their home. My dad addressed this family as if it were his own extended family. Among the sisters only the youngest was hitched yet she passed on leaving a boy. Her man was a bartender in Delhi and remarried soon after te death of his wife leaving the boy in the hands of his grandma and aunts.After that, he never turned to The kid was raised by the aged mother and the unmarried sisters.They stayed in one of tge small houses in a humble colony .Thiscwaspribably in my early boyhood days and in the following years I might have visited them once or twice,never more than that.

4

Padmini Ashy remained single. In her hay days, she tossed with several eligible suitors but her mother was not pleased with any. P. Ashy had many suitors in her prime youth and she tossed with the idea of whom to marry and her mother opposed all her choices and finally, she remained unmarried.

Occasionally she would see her ex-fiancé at the municipal office working with her brother and they would just smile but not talk. On the election day, at the counter of ballet counting, they both were posted in a remote village and in those days they had to live in the same village guest house in different rooms. And they exchanged and they exchanged a few words but nothing more. He retired from service but died

The boy’s father was in Delhi working as a bartender. And went for devious ways. She had the habit of reading a cliffhanger and identifying with the female personas that are not herself.

It was one of the houses where he used to go as a child and the association between them started much earlier. In addition, I was unimportant and she was the family sidekick and buried my family there while eating the unmarried and all till the completion of the life and the elderly person was in that house. She was the buddy of my senior aunt who ran the head bistro in the town. such incalculable people went to that town which was near the post and again and he could it and it was again the vital course from another city roadway transport and my most established aunt was overseeing the premier bistro and she was a widow and she was rung a significant house and the principle photograph of that point was in our family. The bistro was there in the hour of my most established aunt. The old photos were shown to her in her respected time when she visited my home. My most established aunt was close to me. she was vivified when I offered her the photographs.

5

whenever I went to the room of road may she will be sitting on her armed bench against the narrow beige drywall. Her dead father’s photo is on the partition. She vocalised only the native language and did not know English, but she cooked healthy. She applied talcum powder all over her face and took two bathings a day inside the carved shower stall. She bathed early in the daylight and dusk. She wore a massive men’s wristwatch with a white dial and silver band, unlike other matrons who wore only ladies watches. In those years only very few ladies wore watches and in that assembly came Padmini Ashy.

6

Padmini Ashy made me realize that I should save money in the bank for my higher education. But my dad was averse to all sorts of saving and despite his want of a plan or worry for the future, everything spun out well in his situation. She took extra freedom to criticize my dad for his lack of solicitude for the future as they were playmates and of the exact age she blurted out these bits of guidance in the middle of my free evening circuit through the streets of the old town just in front of the principal hospital. Padmini Ashy painted pictures, scenery and portraits of eminent people, sometimes, heroes and heroines in the movies. where she dwelled we saw numerous gear utilized by proficient painters. Some of her works of art were purchased by individuals who made wall calendars.

She had bizarre eating habits. When we didn’t know about nutritious food sources, she ate restoratively endorsed food sources. She ate dark walnuts that are rich in omega-3 alpha-linolenic acid. There were numerous materials and painting materials, brushes and canvases in her room. She stayed alone away from her sister’s grandmother. Her younger sisters living with them and his father were working in Delhi and after the death of his significant other, he married once more. The more youthful sister was the main lady among sisters who got hitched.

7

Also, the son of Padminiashy’s youngest sister became defiant in the need for a legitimate course. I recollect that once he visited our house. He was a few years younger than me and he had our tea and snacks. That was one of the few instances that I met him vis-a-vis however I heard from indirect talks certain tales of his whereabouts. Padmini Ashy had only one brother who worked in the Municipal department and would make infrequent visits to our house, once in a year or once in two years. This gentleman was one of the good truck drivers in the department and moved away from the family when I left. Regardless, Padminiashy was tended to by my father by her first name as they were of the same age and they were playmates. I in like manner called her Sister Cher, which was more similar to a sobriquet than an accurate handle.

8

The essential worry about the family and I heard that she married an old individual who claimed a lot of property, who was by then, catching a ride and had procured the property of a few educational cost based schools. My dad advised me in the family inward assembling that it was marriage for cash. The preparation was starting as an effective business and it was for quite a while in our town. It was the start of a pattern from philosophical thinking with characteristics to practical learning with a business eye, new legends coming up superseding the old holy people who lived in photographs. In guest rooms of government work settings and businesses and private visiting rooms. They talked about anyway and did nothing that they did for the duration of regular day to day existence. they worshipped these old heroic characters yet didn’t do anything that they had done… Education was a service instead of a business and we created pieces on it and got prizes, but close by it, another steam was creating where guidance was more like a business than help. Likewise, she married a courteous elderly gentleman and was two decades older than her. when she began living with him, possibly she was in her late fifties. My father in our family get together at supper and told that she married for cash.

9

During one of my excursions after my father’s passing, I viewed her photo on the fifth page of the newspaper adjacent to multiple accounts of obituaries. I was touring by bus passing from one state to another and on both sides, scenic marvels welcomed in a twelve-hour trip in a luxury bus. The seat of the transport could be converted into a bed during the night time to ease the travellers. The carrier was cosy and the trip was fabulous due to the stunning localities on both sides. However, we did not get much time to watch the outside scenes as most of the travel was at night and the passengers were sleeping. The city capital where was entered had as of late changed with parallel paths and flyovers to stay away from the busy traffic. Drawing closer to the city, I thought that it was the rise of a new chapter with so many souls left behind and new beings emerging. That was the background of me when I reached the city, with thoughts of my virtual auntie who offered me many bits of good direction in my developing years. The city was eagerly sprouting from last night’s film of snow.

………….

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Cabin by the Azure Lake

Cabin by the Azure Lake short story You might love lakes perhaps. I do. For their profound solitudes their surroundings and sometimes for the stints and the seasons and the people with whom we went th

Bamboo Shoots

Bamboo shoots Short Story Part 1 In a murmur, the entryway opened and there came a man in yellow garments and a white cap . He grinned in a bizarre style.they pondered, where will they go after the t

Talesfrom Innsbruck-21

Tales from Innsbruck Short Fiction Chapter-21 Tales from Innsbruck Short Fiction Chapter-21 In this chunk of the rigmarole I would like to recount the fate of the actress who was introduced in the ear

bottom of page